Jewish Area, Gothic Quarters, Cathedral

The second field trip started at the Cathedral of Barcelona. This was my first time seeinIMG_2976g the Cathedral and boy oh boy was I shocked. The beauty of the building early in the morning is quite breathtaking. The sun hitting the old building in such a certain way gave me chills.The class met outside on the steps of the Cathedral before continuing on with their walking tour. Around the Cathedral, there are so many little alleys and could lead you to new and different parts of the ctiy. I had to stick close by or else I would have been lost very quickly.

Be prepared for the amount of pictures I have viewers!! This was such a interesting field trip for me- I went a little crazy. I cannot forget my immediate reaction of the design of the streets. The area around this massive building is comprised of small-narrow streets not wide enough for a car to drive down, literally. Each street was so unique and different, it was not just a name of a street that distinguished each of them. Some streets were enhanced by decorative graffiti and “artwork” that Xavi drew more attention to ( I will show later).

Passing down these narrow IMG_2981alleys also gave us the opportunity to observe the Cathedral from a different angle. The side of the building is amazing and I love the sculptures that are attached to the building. As we kept walking, we found ourselves in the center of Plaza Jaume, where the energy changed immediately. Around the Catherdral, it was more solemn, we did see old ladies begging on the street but that seemed to be the only noise. Around Plaza Jaume we witnessed the livelyhood of the city, or the huzzle and buzzle we call it in New York.

While Plaza Jaume was enjoyable to see, my favorite part of this field trip was the Jewish area. The Jewish Quarters of the city was a place that I was always hoping to visit, however, I struggled to find them on my own. Half of my family is Jewish, my grandmother was one of twelve and raised in a non denominational home. Becuase of that, many of my mothers cousins and my second cousins aIMG_2988re Jewish. My mom, a catholic, stressed the importance of other religions on my family a great deal.  This next picture symbolizes the bridge of faith. This bridge is a connection from the Cathedral to the Jewish quarter. The symbol of the bridge shows a connection between the two religions and two neighborhoods of the city during the Roman times. I was interested to learn and hear the relationship that people sharing my same religious background have impacted the city in many waysIMG_2990 such as business. This next picture to the left is an example of an apartment in the Jewish quarter, dating back to late B.C. and early A.D. The first floor had the highest ceilings and then they get lower as you increase floors. The rooms with the lower ceilings were generally where the maids and slaves lived. The rooms with high-vaulted ceilings wIMG_2996ere for the nobility of the time. Similar to the history I am aware of, it is not a surprise to here that Jewish people from Barcelona suffered similar struggles to Jews in other parts of the world. I would like to finish my post with this picture of graffiti. Alot of the time we pass this type of “art” up. We just are too busy with our own specific agenda to really be observant of the things around us. Xavi pointed this specpfic piece of art out and we all just took a few minutes to admire it. It was honestly one of the first time I should and stared at street art. It was beautiful to take that moment and just relish in it.

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.